Ozarks Fighting Back Advisory Board


Since 1990, the Ozarks Fighting Back Advisory Board (OFB) of Community Partnership has taken the lead role in overseeing our substance abuse and violence prevention efforts. This group of dedicated individuals meet reguarly to analyze data, brings the needed people to the table to identify and address problems, helps secure funding, and provides support to both staff and community working in this arena.

This group was originally formed in 1990 as the governing board of a 501(c)3 organization dedicated to reducing substance abuse called Ozarks Fighting Back. In 1998, Ozarks Fighting Back merged with another organization called the Community Task Force to become Community Partnership of the Ozarks, Inc., with this group then becoming the OFB Advisory Board.

Over the years, OFB has led or made possible many successful prevention initiatives, including:

  • 2002 – Established the Greene County Drug Endangered Children Team
  • 2006 – Was instrumental in bringing in the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy to kick off its national meth awareness campaign in Springfield
  • 2010 – Spearheaded the “Lock It to Stop It” crime prevention campaign with local law enforcement
  • 2011 – Started the Speaker’s Bureau, in collaboration with Springfield Public Schools and local colleges, training college students and other volunteers to provide substance and violence awareness presentations to middle and high school students.

Ozarks Fighting Back Advisory Board Members

  • Maria Johnston, Springfield-Greene County Park Board
  • Loni Brewer, Rare Breed Youth Services
  • Michael Carter, Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
  • Allen Criger, Greene County Juvenile Office
  • Ed Derr, Drury University,
  • Patrick Gartland, Boys and Girls Club of Springfield
  • Sally Gibson, Burrell Behavioral Health
  • Dr. Justin Herrell, Springfield Public Schools
  • Barbara Hover, Greene County Medical Society Alliance
  • Jason Martin, CoxHealth
  • David McBeath, Old Missouri Bank
  • Father Mike McDevitt, St. Agnes Cathedral
  • Cpt.David Milsap, Springfield Police Department
  • Darrell Moore, Community Volunteer
  • David Oliver, KOZL-KOLR10
  • Dan Patterson, Greene County Prosecutor’s Office, Chair
  • Collin Quigley, City of Springfield
  • Darlene Steele, Community Volunteer
  • Dr. Michael Stout, Missouri State University
  • Mark Tendai, Metro Housing
  • Cheryl West, Safety Council of the Ozarks, Vice-Chair